Students
Who's on campus
A small campus of 3,477 undergrads, where 71% receive Pell Grants, a high share compared to other colleges.
Race & ethnicity
Diversity index0.25
Economic access
Campus size
7% of undergraduates take every course online, and another 81% take some
Where first-years come from
1,056 first-time students
52% came from other states and 4.8% from abroad; 43% are from Alabama. More from other states than at 81% of colleges.
- In-state (Alabama)43%
- Other states52%
- Abroad4.8%
Top home states
- Alabama(home state)43% 455
- Georgia22% 231
- Florida6.0% 63
- California3.5% 37
- Illinois2.4% 25
From 28 states (counting DC) and 1 from U.S. territories.
Students starting college for the first time, by where they lived when admitted. Colleges report it every other fall.
Transfers in and out
Transferring in, fall 2024
159
new transfer students, 13% of new undergraduates. A larger transfer share than at 22% of colleges.
158 full-time, 1 part-time.
Going on to another college
35%
of students who entered in fall 2016 had left without a degree and were enrolled at another college 8 years later (about 519 students).
Federal data doesn't count students leaving in a given year; this follows one entering class.
Who they are
6.7% of undergrads study part-time.
63% women
Another gender: Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Degree-seeking undergraduates. Men and women add up to 100% because federal data has colleges count each student of another or unknown gender as a man or a woman.
Campus life
Housing, sports, faith, Greek life, and LGBTQ+ life
Housing for 2,079 students.
Housing
Beds
2,079
About 60 for every 100 undergrads (median college: 59). Can include graduate housing.
First-years
Not required to live on campus
Many colleges still expect it, with exceptions such as for local students.
Meal plans
Up to 19 meals a week
Athletics & programs
Athletics
NCAA Division I FCS · Southwestern Athletic Conference
Of the four sports the federal survey asks about, it plays football, basketball, baseball, cross country/track.
How the Southwestern Athletic Conference comparesROTC
Air Force
Study abroad
Offered
Undergraduate research
Not listed
Calendar
Semesters
Student services
- Academic and career counseling
- Help finding a job while enrolled
- Job placement after graduating
- 3% or fewer of undergrads registered with disability services· Disability services office
Greek life
No fraternity or sorority chapters found in national directories (October 2026).
LGBTQ+ life
State law for public colleges
Alabama public colleges may not sponsor programs where attendance is based on race, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or similar traits, or keep offices promoting them; student and faculty groups may host them without state funds.
Code of Alabama §41-1-90 et seq. (Alabama SB 129 (2024)), in effect since October 1, 2024.
Undergraduates of another gender, fall 2024
Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Gender unknown: 0
First-year applicants of another gender, fall 2024
Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Colleges record gender so differently that these counts can't be compared between colleges.
Sources:College Scorecard, Fall 2024;College Scorecard, most recent release;College Scorecard, Fall 2023;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part C, residence of first-time students), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part A, enrollment by level), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (distance education), Fall 2024;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey, 2023–24;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (athletics, programs, services, religious affiliation), 2025–26;IPEDS directory (Institutional Characteristics: HD), 2025–26;IPEDS Admissions survey, Fall 2024;State laws on public colleges, In effect since October 1, 2024About the data(retrieved 2026-10-12)