Students
Who's on campus
A small campus of 2,542 undergrads, where 42% receive Pell Grants, a high share compared to other colleges.
Race & ethnicity
Diversity index0.64
Economic access
Campus size
25% of undergraduates take every course online, and another 42% take some
Where first-years come from
364 first-time students
11% came from other states and 0.0% from abroad; 81% are from Alabama. Fewer from other states than at 71% of colleges.
- In-state (Alabama)81%
- Other states11%
- Abroad0.0%
- Not reported8.3%
Top home states
- Alabama(home state)81% 295
- Georgia4.1% 15
- Florida2.2% 8
- Tennessee1.1% 4
- Kentucky0.5% 2
From 15 states (counting DC).
Students starting college for the first time, by where they lived when admitted. Colleges report it every other fall.
Transfers in and out
Transferring in, fall 2024
274
new transfer students, 43% of new undergraduates. A larger transfer share than at 76% of colleges.
226 full-time, 48 part-time.
Going on to another college
31%
of students who entered in fall 2016 had left without a degree and were enrolled at another college 8 years later (about 371 students).
Federal data doesn't count students leaving in a given year; this follows one entering class.
Who they are
20% of undergrads study part-time.
66% women
Another gender: 0 reported. The college may not record other genders.
Degree-seeking undergraduates. Men and women add up to 100% because federal data has colleges count each student of another or unknown gender as a man or a woman.
Campus life
Housing, sports, faith, Greek life, and LGBTQ+ life
Housing for 1,200 students.
Housing
Beds
1,200
About 47 for every 100 undergrads (median college: 59). Can include graduate housing.
First-years
Not required to live on campus
Many colleges still expect it, with exceptions such as for local students.
Meal plans
Offered
Athletics & programs
Athletics
NCAA Division II · Gulf South Conference
Of the four sports the federal survey asks about, it plays basketball, baseball, cross country/track (no football).
How the Gulf South Conference comparesROTC
Army
Study abroad
Offered
Undergraduate research
Not listed
Calendar
Semesters
Student services
- Academic and career counseling
- Help finding a job while enrolled
- Job placement after graduating
- On-campus child care for students' children
- 3% or fewer of undergrads registered with disability services· Disability services office
Greek life
No fraternity or sorority chapters found in national directories (October 2026).
LGBTQ+ life
Policies
- Nondiscrimination policy covers gender identity or expression
Listed by Trans Policy Clearinghouse, read October 2026; not confirmed by the college.
State law for public colleges
Alabama public colleges may not sponsor programs where attendance is based on race, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or similar traits, or keep offices promoting them; student and faculty groups may host them without state funds.
Code of Alabama §41-1-90 et seq. (Alabama SB 129 (2024)), in effect since October 1, 2024.
Undergraduates of another gender, fall 2024
0 reported. The college may not record other genders.
Gender unknown: 0
First-year applicants of another gender, fall 2024
Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Colleges record gender so differently that these counts can't be compared between colleges.
Sources:College Scorecard, Fall 2024;College Scorecard, most recent release;College Scorecard, Fall 2023;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part C, residence of first-time students), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part A, enrollment by level), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (distance education), Fall 2024;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey, 2023–24;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (athletics, programs, services, religious affiliation), 2025–26;IPEDS directory (Institutional Characteristics: HD), 2025–26;IPEDS Admissions survey, Fall 2024;State laws on public colleges, In effect since October 1, 2024About the data(retrieved 2026-10-12)