Students
Who's on campus
A medium campus of 7,529 undergrads, where 27% receive Pell Grants, a typical share compared to other colleges.
Race & ethnicity
Diversity index0.30
Economic access
Campus size
9% of undergraduates take every course online, and another 34% take some
Where first-years come from
1,546 first-time students
10% came from other states and 0.8% from abroad; 89% are from Iowa. Fewer from other states than at 72% of colleges.
- In-state (Iowa)89%
- Other states10%
- Abroad0.8%
Top home states
- Iowa(home state)89% 1,371
- Illinois3.4% 52
- Minnesota2.6% 40
- Wisconsin1.4% 22
- Nebraska0.6% 9
From 24 states (counting DC).
Students starting college for the first time, by where they lived when admitted. Colleges report it every other fall.
Transfers in and out
Transferring in, fall 2024
762
new transfer students, 33% of new undergraduates. A larger transfer share than at 64% of colleges.
625 full-time, 137 part-time.
Going on to another college
23%
of students who entered in fall 2016 had left without a degree and were enrolled at another college 8 years later (about 718 students).
Federal data doesn't count students leaving in a given year; this follows one entering class.
Who they are
8.3% of undergrads study part-time.
61% women
Another gender: Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Degree-seeking undergraduates. Men and women add up to 100% because federal data has colleges count each student of another or unknown gender as a man or a woman.
Campus life
Housing, sports, faith, Greek life, and LGBTQ+ life
Housing for 3,594 students.
Housing
Beds
3,594
About 48 for every 100 undergrads (median college: 59). Can include graduate housing.
First-years
Not required to live on campus
Many colleges still expect it, with exceptions such as for local students.
Meal plans
Offered
Athletics & programs
Athletics
NCAA Division I FCS · Missouri Valley Conference
Of the four sports the federal survey asks about, it plays football, basketball, cross country/track.
How the Missouri Valley Conference comparesROTC
Army
Study abroad
Offered
Undergraduate research
A formal program
Calendar
Semesters
Student services
- Academic and career counseling
- Help finding a job while enrolled
- Job placement after graduating
- On-campus child care for students' children
- 12% of undergrads registered with disability services· Disability services office
Religious life
Faith communities · 3
- Catholic 1
- Christian 1
- Nonreligious and secular 1
Christian
Nonreligious and secular
Freethinkers and Inquirers at University of Northern Iowa
Greek life
On the national organizations' own chapter lists.
Councils and chapters
1listedPanhellenic sororities (NPC)Show chaptersHide
From each organization's own chapter list.
Epsilon Mu Chapter
1listedInterfraternity (NIC and IFC)Show chaptersHide
From each organization's own chapter list.
Mu-Upsilon
LGBTQ+ life
Support on campus
Founded 2013
Policies
- Gender-inclusive housing
- Chosen name and pronouns on campus records
- Gender-inclusive restrooms listed online
Listed by Trans Policy Clearinghouse, read October 2026; not confirmed by the college.
State law for public colleges
Iowa public universities and community colleges may not have offices that promote programming designed around race, ethnicity, gender identity, or sexual orientation; courses, research, student groups, and health services are exempt.
Iowa Code chapter 261J (Iowa SF 2435 (2024) and HF 856 (2025)), in effect since July 1, 2025. Lists can lag changes on campus, so a center listed above may have changed since the list was read.
Undergraduates of another gender, fall 2024
Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Gender unknown: 0
First-year applicants of another gender, fall 2024
Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Colleges record gender so differently that these counts can't be compared between colleges.
Sources:College Scorecard, Fall 2024;College Scorecard, most recent release;College Scorecard, Fall 2023;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part C, residence of first-time students), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part A, enrollment by level), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (distance education), Fall 2024;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey, 2023–24;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (athletics, programs, services, religious affiliation), 2025–26;IPEDS directory (Institutional Characteristics: HD), 2025–26;IPEDS Admissions survey, Fall 2024;State laws on public colleges, In effect since July 1, 2025About the data(retrieved 2026-10-12)
