Students
Who's on campus
A large campus of 19,444 undergrads, where 26% receive Pell Grants, a low share compared to other colleges.
Race & ethnicity
Diversity index0.37
Economic access
Campus size
8% of undergraduates take every course online, and another 50% take some
Where first-years come from
4,038 first-time students
14% came from other states and 0.2% from abroad; 86% are from North Carolina. Fewer from other states than at 66% of colleges.
- In-state (North Carolina)86%
- Other states14%
- Abroad0.2%
Top home states
- North Carolina(home state)86% 3,473
- Virginia2.3% 92
- South Carolina2.2% 88
- Georgia1.6% 65
- Florida1.5% 59
From 40 states (counting DC) and 1 from U.S. territories.
Students starting college for the first time, by where they lived when admitted. Colleges report it every other fall.
Transfers in and out
Transferring in, fall 2024
1,577
new transfer students, 28% of new undergraduates. A larger transfer share than at 55% of colleges.
1,362 full-time, 215 part-time.
Going on to another college
17%
of students who entered in fall 2016 had left without a degree and were enrolled at another college 8 years later (about 928 students).
Federal data doesn't count students leaving in a given year; this follows one entering class.
Who they are
6.9% of undergrads study part-time.
55% women
Another gender: Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Degree-seeking undergraduates. Men and women add up to 100% because federal data has colleges count each student of another or unknown gender as a man or a woman.
Campus life
Housing, sports, faith, Greek life, and LGBTQ+ life
Housing for 6,313 students.
Housing
Beds
6,313
About 32 for every 100 undergrads (median college: 59). Can include graduate housing.
First-years
Not required to live on campus
Many colleges still expect it, with exceptions such as for local students.
Meal plans
Up to 21 meals a week
Athletics & programs
Athletics
NCAA Division I FBS · Sun Belt Conference
Of the four sports the federal survey asks about, it plays football, basketball, baseball, cross country/track.
How the Sun Belt Conference comparesROTC
Army
Study abroad
Offered
Undergraduate research
Not listed
Calendar
Semesters
Student services
- Academic and career counseling
- Help finding a job while enrolled
- Job placement after graduating
- On-campus child care for students' children
- A program for students with intellectual disabilities
- 7% of undergrads registered with disability services· Disability services office
Religious life
Faith communities · 2
- Christian 1
- Nonreligious and secular 1
Nonreligious and secular
Secular Appalachian Student Society at Appalachian State University
Greek life
On the national organizations' own chapter lists.
Councils and chapters
3listedPanhellenic sororities (NPC)Show chaptersHide
From each organization's own chapter list.
4listedInterfraternity (NIC and IFC)Show chaptersHide
From each organization's own chapter list.
Lambda-Nu
Sigma-Upsilon (App State)
Delta Zeta
Kappa Epsilon
LGBTQ+ life
Support on campus
Founded 2008
Policies
- Chosen name and pronouns on campus records
Listed by Trans Policy Clearinghouse, read October 2026; not confirmed by the college.
State law for public colleges
North Carolina public universities and community colleges may not keep offices named diversity, equity, and inclusion or promoting different treatment by federally protected class; the law doesn't name sexual orientation or gender identity.
N.C. Gen. Stat. §§116-415 to 116-417 (North Carolina SB 558 (2026)), in effect since June 24, 2026. Lists can lag changes on campus, so a center listed above may have changed since the list was read.
Undergraduates of another gender, fall 2024
Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Gender unknown: 0
First-year applicants of another gender, fall 2024
Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Colleges record gender so differently that these counts can't be compared between colleges.
Sources:College Scorecard, Fall 2024;College Scorecard, most recent release;College Scorecard, Fall 2023;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part C, residence of first-time students), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part A, enrollment by level), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (distance education), Fall 2024;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey, 2023–24;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (athletics, programs, services, religious affiliation), 2025–26;IPEDS directory (Institutional Characteristics: HD), 2025–26;IPEDS Admissions survey, Fall 2024;State laws on public colleges, In effect since June 24, 2026About the data(retrieved 2026-10-12)
