Students
Who's on campus
A medium campus of 10,108 undergrads, where 40% receive Pell Grants, a typical share compared to other colleges.
Race & ethnicity
Diversity index0.40
Economic access
Campus size
6% of undergraduates take every course online, and another 60% take some
Where first-years come from
2,738 first-time students
94% came from other states and 2.9% from abroad; 1.9% are from District of Columbia. More from other states than at 99% of colleges.
- In-state (District of Columbia)1.9%
- Other states94%
- Abroad2.9%
- Not reported0.9%
Top home states
- Maryland10% 285
- New York9.9% 271
- Georgia8.2% 225
- Texas7.1% 194
- California6.7% 183
From 50 states (counting DC) and 8 from U.S. territories.
Students starting college for the first time, by where they lived when admitted. Colleges report it every other fall.
Transfers in and out
Transferring in, fall 2024
190
new transfer students, 6.5% of new undergraduates. A larger transfer share than at 9% of colleges.
178 full-time, 12 part-time.
Going on to another college
22%
of students who entered in fall 2016 had left without a degree and were enrolled at another college 8 years later (about 258 students).
Federal data doesn't count students leaving in a given year; this follows one entering class.
Who they are
Almost everyone studies full-time.
73% women
Another gender: Not collected by this college.
Degree-seeking undergraduates. Men and women add up to 100% because federal data has colleges count each student of another or unknown gender as a man or a woman.
Campus life
Housing, sports, faith, Greek life, and LGBTQ+ life
Housing for 6,051 students.
Housing
Beds
6,051
About 60 for every 100 undergrads (median college: 59). Can include graduate housing.
First-years
Not required to live on campus
Many colleges still expect it, with exceptions such as for local students.
Meal plans
Up to 19 meals a week
Athletics & programs
Athletics
NCAA Division I FCS · Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
Of the four sports the federal survey asks about, it plays football, basketball, cross country/track.
How the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference comparesROTC
Army, Air Force
Study abroad
Offered
Undergraduate research
A formal program
Calendar
Semesters
Student services
- Academic and career counseling
- Help finding a job while enrolled
- Job placement after graduating
- 3% or fewer of undergrads registered with disability services· Disability services office
Religious life
Affiliation
No religious affiliation
Scholarships
Some of the college's own non-need-based aid considers religious affiliation
Campus ministries
Listed among campus activities
Faith communities · 3
- Catholic 1
- Christian 2
Greek life
Among first-years: 0.0% of men, 0.0% of women.
Councils and chapters
- 9chaptersNational Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) Historically Black (NPHC)Its chapters aren't on the national lists we read yet.
LGBTQ+ life
Policies
- Nondiscrimination policy covers gender identity or expression
- Gender-inclusive housing
Listed by Trans Policy Clearinghouse, read October 2026; not confirmed by the college.
Undergraduates of another gender, fall 2024
Not collected by this college.
Gender unknown: 0
First-year applicants of another gender, fall 2024
Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Colleges record gender so differently that these counts can't be compared between colleges.
Sources:College Scorecard, Fall 2024;College Scorecard, most recent release;College Scorecard, Fall 2023;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part C, residence of first-time students), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part A, enrollment by level), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (distance education), Fall 2024;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey, 2023–24;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (athletics, programs, services, religious affiliation), 2025–26;IPEDS directory (Institutional Characteristics: HD), 2025–26;Howard University Common Data Set 2025–26, Fall 2025;Howard University Common Data Set 2025–26, Fall 2026 entrants;Howard University Common Data Set 2025–26, 2025–26;IPEDS Admissions survey, Fall 2024About the data(retrieved 2026-10-12)