Students
Who's on campus
A very large campus of 35,629 undergrads, where 22% receive Pell Grants, a low share compared to other colleges.
Race & ethnicity
Diversity index0.68
Economic access
Campus size
Where first-years come from
7,513 first-time students
19% came from other states and 7.2% from abroad; 73% are from Florida. Fewer from other states than at 58% of colleges.
- In-state (Florida)73%
- Other states19%
- Abroad7.2%
- Not reported0.9%
Top home states
- Florida(home state)73% 5,465
- New York3.1% 231
- New Jersey2.6% 198
- Pennsylvania1.3% 100
- Virginia1.2% 92
From 50 states (counting DC).
Students starting college for the first time, by where they lived when admitted. Colleges report it every other fall.
Transfers in and out
Transferring in, fall 2024
1,635
new transfer students, 18% of new undergraduates. A larger transfer share than at 33% of colleges.
1,461 full-time, 174 part-time.
Going on to another college
7.0%
of students who entered in fall 2016 had left without a degree and were enrolled at another college 8 years later (about 680 students).
Federal data doesn't count students leaving in a given year; this follows one entering class.
Who they are
7.8% of undergrads study part-time.
55% women
Another gender: Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Degree-seeking undergraduates. Men and women add up to 100% because federal data has colleges count each student of another or unknown gender as a man or a woman.
Campus life
Housing, sports, faith, Greek life, and LGBTQ+ life
Housing for 11,668 students.
Housing
Beds
11,668
About 33 for every 100 undergrads (median college: 59). Can include graduate housing.
First-years
Not required to live on campus
Many colleges still expect it, with exceptions such as for local students.
Meal plans
Offered
Athletics & programs
Athletics
NCAA Division I FBS · Southeastern Conference
Of the four sports the federal survey asks about, it plays football, basketball, baseball, cross country/track.
How the Southeastern Conference comparesROTC
Army, Navy, Air Force
Study abroad
Offered
Undergraduate research
A formal program
Calendar
Semesters
Student services
- Academic and career counseling
- Help finding a job while enrolled
- Job placement after graduating
- On-campus child care for students' children
- 13% of undergrads registered with disability services· Disability services office
Religious life
Affiliation
No religious affiliation
Campus ministries
Listed among campus activities
Faith communities · 5
- Catholic 1
- Christian 3
- Nonreligious and secular 1
Christian
Nonreligious and secular
Secular Student Alliance at the University of Florida
Greek life
On the national organizations' own chapter lists.
Among first-years: 16% of men, 27% of women.
- Fraternity and sorority housing
Councils and chapters
6listedPanhellenic sororities (NPC)Show chaptersHide
From each organization's own chapter list.
Gamma Iota Chapter
Delta Kappa Chapter
Beta Pi
Alpha Nu
Florida Delta
Beta Tau
5listedInterfraternity (NIC and IFC)Show chaptersHide
From each organization's own chapter list.
Delta-Delta
Epsilon-Mu (Florida)
Alpha Epsilon
Epsilon Zeta
LGBTQ+ life
Support on campus
Founded 2004
Policies
- Nondiscrimination policy covers gender identity or expression
- Gender-inclusive housing
- Chosen name and pronouns on campus records
- Gender-inclusive restrooms listed online
Listed by Trans Policy Clearinghouse, read October 2026; not confirmed by the college.
State law for public colleges
Florida public colleges may not use state or federal funds for programs advocating diversity, equity, and inclusion, defined in state rules as favoring people by race, sex, gender identity, or sexual orientation; student groups are exempt.
Florida Statutes §1004.06 (Florida SB 266 (2023)), in effect since July 1, 2023. Lists can lag changes on campus, so a center listed above may have changed since the list was read.
Undergraduates of another gender, fall 2024
Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Gender unknown: fewer than 10
First-year applicants of another gender, fall 2024
Not reported: the college records other genders but leaves these counts blank when any is under 5, for privacy.
Colleges record gender so differently that these counts can't be compared between colleges.
Sources:College Scorecard, Fall 2024;College Scorecard, most recent release;College Scorecard, Fall 2023;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part C, residence of first-time students), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (part A, enrollment by level), Fall 2024;IPEDS Fall Enrollment survey (distance education), Fall 2024;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey, 2023–24;IPEDS Institutional Characteristics survey (athletics, programs, services, religious affiliation), 2025–26;IPEDS directory (Institutional Characteristics: HD), 2025–26;University of Florida Common Data Set 2025–26, Fall 2025;University of Florida Common Data Set 2025–26, 2025–26;IPEDS Admissions survey, Fall 2024;State laws on public colleges, In effect since July 1, 2023About the data(retrieved 2026-10-12)



